Sunday, 16th June // Wobbling Along

So this past week I have had a friend from England come to stay (yay!). It was awesome but she brought with her loads of my favourite treats from the UK which I now can’t eat, eg. Bakewell tarts, chocolate mini eggs, golden syrup… So this week I was a little naughty and have indulged in ONLY ONE Bakewell, like six mini eggs but… several mug cakes with golden syrup. It says gluten free on the can so it’s not too bad right?! Aw man who am I kidding. At least apart from those treats, I’ve kept with the Primal lifestyle, even when eating out, which is ridiculously difficult in Japan due to rice and sugar being added to EVERYTHING.

I totally had forgotten how much I LOVE cherry Bakewells. For those who don’t know, they’re these little tarts with cherry jam on the bottom and almond cake on top, then topped with glace icing and a cherry. Basically they are heavenly. The Boy took the rest of the box to finish them for me because I would die otherwise, and then messaged me wondering if I could make a mug cake version of it. Immediately I tried. Not having access to organic jam or cherries in this country, I made do with almond butter goo on the bottom. Here’s the recipe. As with all mug cakes, cooking time will vary depending on your microwave.

Ingredients
For the goo:
1 1/2 tbsp organic cherry jam + 1/2 tbsp coconut flour + 1/2 tsp almond essence OR
1 tbsp almond butter + 1/2 tbsp coconut flour + 1/2 tbsp honey/maple syup/sweetener of choice + 1/2 tsp almond essence
For the cake:
1 egg
3 tbsp almond flour
1 tbsp coconut milk (or cream works fine too)
1 tsp almond essence
1 tbsp honey/maple syrup/sweetener of choice
Method
1. In a mug, mix together the ingredients for the goo until a smooth paste. Spread evenly on the base of the mug
2. In a separate bowl, mix together the ingredients for the cake until a smooth batter.
3. Pour on top of the goo and whack it in the microwave for up to 1min. Mine takes around 50 seconds in my mug; yours may take a little more or less depending on the mug.
4. ENJOY (but be careful, it’s super hot when it comes out the microwave)

 

Anyway, moving on from mug cakes… I need to get back on the wagon and start eating better. I’ve decided to start a Whole30 challenge to kickstart myself back into it after my week of indulgence. The lack of legumes and grains etc won’t be too hard since that’s Primal anyway, the sugar I need to work on anyway but shouldn’t be too hard; the lack of cheese…. what can I do about my morning omelette?! Thankfully there is always scrambled eggs, mug cakes (minus sugar of course, le sob), or leftovers from the night before… but I found a recipe for paleo porridge that I want to try. Since it’s not a substitute for grain foods, it’s Whole30 compliant so I can have it! That’s starting tomorrow so I will post a review about it when possible. Good luck to me!

I did some cooking for the week so I have several meals prepped for after work. Wednesday will be spent with The Boy who is making his favourite Thai noodle dish… with shirataki! I think I’ve finally won him over with the Primal lifestyle. FIST PUMP.

Lemon thyme chicken soup
– Primal-ified from this recipe

Baked lemon salmon
– serve with broccoli or spinach depending on how poor I am till payday

Spicy coconut chicken
– served with broccoli

Paleo porridge / Scrambled eggs / Leftovers
– breakfast options

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

The Balanced Appetite

my journey to a healthy and balanced life

Sundaylicious

Boldly going where other food bloggers have gone before